Soccer Penalty Kicks

Hi SoccerHelp,

We enjoy your site, and were trying to find a section where we could get a question answered about a rule issue we had in a recent game. Perhaps you can assist us.

When taking a penalty kick, if the keeper blocks the shot and it is deflected back into the field of play, may the player taking the penalty kick then score a goal, or must the ball first be touched by another field player. We found the rule involving deflections off the goal post.

Hi,

You're right, this isn't addressed in the Definition of Penalty Kick, and we will add the answer there.

We went to www.fifa.com, which makes the rules and now has a good section titled "Regulations". Here's the answer and some other info we will add to SoccerHelp:

The player taking the penalty kick may not play the ball a second time until it has touched another player. (Interpretation: he MAY play the ball and attempt to score if the goalkeeper or another player has touched it, but not if just bounces back off the post or crossbar; the kicker must not touch it unless another player has touched it).

If, after the penalty kick has been taken the kicker touches the ball a second time (except with his hands, which is a direct free kick penalty) before it has touched another player, an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred. However, if the kicker deliberately handles the ball before it has touched another player, a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred. (Go to www.fifa.com, "Regulations", for more details).
SoccerHelp